Super Ballon d’Or: What it is, when it will be awarded, nominees – Lionel Messi – Ballon d’Or – Cristiano Ronaldo – France Football – Sports | Soccer-International

Messi wins awards while scoring goals: one after another. world cup, Golden BallGolden Boot, America’s Cup, Champions League, UEFA MVP, Finalissima and more: Lionel Messi He has achieved all these feats throughout his career as a footballer. However, there is one more to be gained. The 36-year-old Argentine, who currently plays in the United States’ MLS, can present an individual award that has only been presented once in history: Super Ballon d’Or. This prestigious award was last presented in 1989, when football legend Alfredo Di Stefano left an indelible mark on history.

Since 1956, Magazine France football presents the prestigious Ballon d’Or award annually An honor given to a select group of players (45 in total) for the best player of the season. The gala has become the most relevant event in the world of football as the winner is chosen by voting by a jury consisting of footballers, coaches and journalists from around the world.

This may interest you

Barcelona search for Lewandowski’s successor: Who will take his place?

Selection is based on “individual and collective performance”, “player class” (which includes both skill and exemplary conduct) and an overall assessment of the player’s career. On October 30, Lionel Messi won his eighth award in this category and was once again declared the best on the planet. This has broken a record that is difficult for another footballer to achieve.

however, In 1989, The magazine decided to bestow the distinction, which until then had only been awarded once to another player: Alfredo Di Stéfano is a true legend who made his mark at clubs like Real Madrid, Sporting de Portugal, Rayo Vallecano, Castellón and Valencia. Johan Cruyff and Michel Platini are among the finalists on this special list.

See also  Edgar Gonzalez praises Cueva: "There is no player like him in Brazil and Argentina" | Soccer-Peruvian

It is important to point that out Only players who had previously won at least one Ballon d’Or were nominated, with Diego Maradona and Pele not being considered.At the time, the French press only presented the award to European national players.

This may interest you

Den Haag’s hours are numbered: Manchester United already have a new manager

Who are the nominees for the Super Ballon d’Or?

During this period, 21 Ballon d’Or winners were crowned. However, E.Lionel Messi (8 times) and Cristiano Ronaldo (5) are clearly the main favorites to win the Super Ballon d’Or.. Because the next player to win the award is Brazil’s Ronaldo Nazario, who has won the award twice (1997 and 2002) within this period.

Additionally, there are other footballers who have won the Ballon d’Or award only once but have had great careers such as Zinedine Zidane (1998), Rivaldo (1999), Luis Figo (2000), Michael Owen (2001). Pavel Nedved (2003), Andriy Shevchenko (2004), Ronaldinho (2005), Fabio Cannavaro (2006), Kaká (2007), Luka Modric (2018) and Karim Benzema (2022).

Henceforth, it is important to note that there are only six Ballon d’Ors left to distribute. What does this mean? No player can match Messi’s eight wins in his career. This does not mean that other players cannot compete with Cristiano.

Kylian Mbappé? Erling Holland? Jude Bellingham? Vinicius Jr.? The future will tell. However, it is safe and fair to say that if an award ceremony were to take place, Messi would be awarded the Super Ballon d’Or. Thus achieving everything in football marks a milestone in the game.

See also  Sporting Cristal defined the futures of Alejandro Hohberg, Washington Coroso and Nilsson Loyola.

When is the Super Ballon d’Or Award Ceremony?

He The Super Ballon d’Or is a special award for French football It was decided to establish it on its 30th anniversary, with the aim of honoring the best football player of the decades of 60s, 70s and 80s. Following the same logic, in 2019, exactly thirty years later, the magazine had to undertake its second edition. First and then later. However, no statement has been issued in this regard.

The imminent retirement of both Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo, considered the greatest footballers in history and the greatest winners of the Ballon d’Or, will encourage the French press to consider hosting a second edition of the Super Bowl. Gold. If so, when? Following your logic, that would be four decades later in 2029 Eighty years after the first award was given to Alfredo Di Stefano and the magazine was founded.

receives Our newsletter: Depor will send you the best sports content as always.

This may interest you

Read more

Local News