Calendar 2023 in Colombia: holidays, holidays and bridges of the year | Answers

In Colombia, the holidays are highly anticipated by the entire population, not only for the monuments that take place on these dates, but also for the bridges that give them a holiday during the year. Likewise, people usually go for a walk or outing with their family during holidays and vacations on these days.

How many bridges will there be in Colombia in 2023?

As is known, there are no official holidays in February and September, so many holidays are in April, during the Easter celebration, which is one of the most important long weekends in 2023. No. However, since April and July are holidays for Colombians, this will be the only month with a holiday.

Why are there so many bridges in Colombia?

Act 51 of 1983 is responsible for the proliferation of many holiday bridges over the years, as this rule states that if a weekend holiday occurs on a Monday, it is a three-day consecutive rest period.

The law was introduced by former Senator Raimundo Emiliani Roman, with the aim of not harming the national economy or the efficiency of companies by implementing the system. This was done with the intention of giving the worker more days off, which he could use to spend time with his family, travel or resolve pending issues.

What holidays and vacations in Colombia in 2023?

  • Sunday, January 1: New year
  • Monday January 9: Three Kings Day
  • Monday March 20: St. Joseph’s Day
  • Sunday, April 2: Palm Sunday
  • Thursday, April 6: Holy Thursday
  • Friday 7th April: Holy Friday
  • Sunday, April 9: Easter Sunday
  • Monday 1st May: working day
  • Monday, May 22: Ascension day
  • Monday, June 12: Body of Christ
  • Monday, June 19: Sacred heart
  • Monday 3rd July: St. Peter and St. Paul
  • Thursday 20th July: Independence Day
  • Monday, August 7: Battle of Boyaka
  • Monday, August 21: Assumption of the Virgin
  • Monday, October 16: Race day
  • Monday, November 6: All saints
  • Monday, November 13: Independence of Cartagena
  • Friday December 8: Immaculate Conception Day
  • Monday, December 25: Christmas day
See also  Chile | Masks return to schools | Respiratory syncytial virus: One of the biggest outbreaks in recent years in South | RSV | the world

What to do if you work on holidays in Colombia?

Act 51 of 1983 stipulates that employees of the public and private sectors are entitled to “paid rest” on official holidays. As established by the Substantive Labor Code, mainly in its Article 179, workers are obliged to receive a 75% surcharge on working holidays and Sundays.

Read more

Local News